Skip to Main Content

Sheriff History

Kleberg County History:
In 1913 the Texas legislature organized Kleberg County from an area which had been in Nueces County. Kingsville was named the county seat.

J. Scarborough served as Sheriff from 1914-1922

J.S Scarborough served as Sheriff from 1935 till 1972
1972-1988 Sheriff James "Jim" S. Scarborough III, a former Kleberg County sheriff, a well-respected community member, and a descendent of a pioneer law enforcement family, died Oct. 31 at the age of 90. Sheriff Scarborough held the office for 16 years.

James Scarborough



1988 to 1994 Adan Munoz Jr. Served as Sheriff of Kleberg County. Adan Munoz created the first Narcotics Task Force, and DARE program in Kleberg County, and implemented many new updates to the patrol fleet, communications.

Adan Munoz Jr.

1994 to 1996 Winston Kelly was appointed Sheriff by Kleberg County Commissioners to fill the unexpired term of Sheriff Munoz.

Winston Kelly

Tony Gonzalez served as Sheriff from 1996 - 2005
Tony Gonzalez

Edward Mata served as Sheriff from 2005 - 2016

Edward Mata2017 – Present Richard Kirkpatrick

Crime Tip Hotline 361-595-8500or via Email